HOME OF THE LADY DENMAN - Local history isn't always about the big story - the everyday story of life in the early development of the region can be a fascinating, entertaining and educational journey.

22 June 2015

Light Houses

Crowdy Head Lighthouse.
Built in 1878 with a fixed catadioptric light of less than 1,000 candelas.
It was the last of a series of small lighthouses designed by James Barnet, made of stone and painted white,  it was originally manned by one keeper until 1928,  in 1972 the light was converted to mains electricity.

Situated on a beautiful headland overlooking Crowdy Head and the boat harbour,  with sweeping views to the north and south.

Meaning: Candelas - the SI unit of luminous intensity.

No comments :

Post a Comment